Daily Reflection: Confessions of a teenage student of Quran

Like. Share. Connect to Quran.  #OurRamadanBlog Daily Reflections.

How has the Quran changed me? Wow, well that’s a bit of a tough question. I think I developed more in the past 5 months than I have in several years. I wouldn’t quite say change, but more that it brought out the good in me and removed confusion and fear of this dunya. I fully realized things I’d just been telling myself before. I’ve become grateful for the blessings I would often feel insecure about, my desire to use these to please Allah instilling a renewed confidence in me. I’ve become quite grateful even for the bad times and bad days. Not that I enjoy them, they’re terrible, but the after effect of them. It breaks this shell that often forms over my heart and allows me to connect with Allah a lot more directly.

Holding onto the Quran doesn’t mean you’ll be the happiest person in the world at all points of your life, though you will be a lot. It means that even at the lowest of times you’ll at the very least be patient, content and hopeful for Allah’s Mercy. Holding onto the Quran means it’ll keep you afloat, not let you drown, pull you out of hard times. As the Prophet (peace be upon him) said, “Indeed this Quran is a rope-one end of it is in the Hand of Allah and the other end is in your hands. So hold firmly to it that you would never go astray and never be destroyed.”

And in Ali-Imran, verse 103 Allah tells us,

3:103

“…hold firmly to the Rope of Allah altogether and do not become divided.”

I learnt that the friendships you make in the way of Allah are better than any other kind of friendship.

 

3:37

“So her Lord accepted her with good acceptance and caused her to grow in a good manner and put her in the care of Zechariah. Every time Zechariah entered upon her in the prayer chamber, he found with her provision. He said, “O Maryam, from where is this [coming] to you?” She said, “It is from Allah. Indeed, Allah provides for whom He wills without account.” (Ali Imran 3:37)

I gained many supporters, friends and role models through learning the Quran, including those not even my contemporaries. I especially connected with Maryam (Allah be pleased with her) as a role model, and learnt that imaan is such a strong and valuable thing that it can cross even a distance of several thousand years.

2:255

“Allah – there is no deity except Him, the Ever-Living, the Sustainer of [all] existence. Neither drowsiness overtakes Him nor sleep. To Him belongs whatever is in the heavens and whatever is on the earth. Who is it that can intercede with Him except by His permission? He knows what is [presently] before them and what will be after them, and they encompass not a thing of His knowledge except for what He wills. His Kursi extends over the heavens and the earth, and their preservation tires Him not. And He is the Most High, the Most Great.” (Al Baqarah 2:255)

Through ayaatul Kursi I realized the extent of Allah who put things into perspective for me. We’re like a tiny toy car model set. I wanted a best friend since childhood, someone I can trust fully but no one quite lived up to that. I realized Allah can be that best friend and I want that in the hereafter, to talk to Him regularly, and if I make him my best friend in this life, then maybe he’ll be my best friend in the akhira. No human can fit that. I often enjoy being alone but there are always moments where you wish you were with someone. Knowing Allah is always there, gaining this realization of Him as a friend, solved that completely. I prefer no one else’s company. I still have a very long way to go, so much to improve, but I have strengthened hope now that I’ll get closer and closer to Allah, in sha Allah.

I’ve stopped worrying about this dunya as much as I used to. I can just taste Jannah to the point where I sometimes want death to come, but then I get worried about whether I’ve pleased Allah yet.

And I often think about how I could have been at university right now, missing out on all this knowledge, not learning the kalam of Allah. Completely misled. Alhamdulillah that Allah guided me to the Quran and may He continue to guide us all. Ameen.

– Contributed by Lyeba Khan

 

 

Leave a comment